Old Fools

Sell me, a story

Tell me ‘bout your glories and your pain

I’ve been lonely

I need someone here to share the rain

So tell it like you never went away.

Pretty soon we’ll be dyin’

So come now stop that cryin’ and that face

Honey, you’d be lyin’

To say love disappeared without a trace

So tell it like you never went away.

Old fools carrying Cold War sandbags

Sell ‘em to the brethren 

Buy another handbag

I just thought that we

Could see this through

In symmetry.

Play fair your psyche

I’m not fazed by honest enmity

But he was just a pikey

He’ll never make you cry as real as me

So tell it like the sun has drained the sea.

Old fools arguing eulogies semantic

Go and ask the minister

Tell him he’s pedantic

I just thought that I

Could make you smile once more

Before we die.

Leave a Reply

